Arts, Lifestyle & Events HKFP Buzz

Event: The Lion King Musical debuts in Hong Kong next week, with 8 more shows added in Jan

After 21 years on Broadway, The Lion King musical is set to roar onto the stage in Hong Kong this month.

lion king hong kong

Mufasa. Photo: Deen van Meer/© Disney.

25 global productions have now been witnessed by over 100 million people across the planet.

lion king hong kong

Nala and Simba. Photo: Joan Marcus/© Disney.

The international tour premiered in Manila back in March, after which it went on to break records in Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan.

lion king hong kong

The Circle of Life. Photo: Matthew Murphy /© Disney.

The Lion King is a one-of-a-kind majestic production that has established a new level of artistry for musical theatre from the staging, costumes and choreography, which are reminiscent of the vast savannahs of Africa and its distinctive animal characters. Embellishing the story with the use of several forms of puppetry, astonishing costumes and traditional African-style song, THE LION KING will now perform a total of 31 shows for Hong Kong audiences to enjoy this heartwarming phenomenal production.

lion king hong kong

Lionesses. Photo: Joan Marcus/© Disney.

Its Hong Kong run has already been extended with eight additional dates in January added.

lion king hong kong

Mufasa and Scar. Photo: Joan Marcus/© Disney.

Shows begin at the AsiaWorld Expo arena next Wednesday and run through Christmas and New Year.

Show dates - click to view

2019/12/18 (Wednesday) 7:45pm
2019/12/19 (Thursday) 7:45pm
2019/12/20 (Friday) 8:00pm
2019/12/21 (Saturday) 2:30pm & 8:00pm
2019/12/22 (Sunday) 1:00pm & 6:00pm
2019/12/24 (Tuesday) 5:00pm
2019/12/25 (Wednesday) 3:00pm
2019/12/26 (Thursday) 1:00pm
2019/12/27 (Friday) 8:00pm
2019/12/28 (Saturday) 2:30pm & 8:00pm
2019/12/29 (Sunday) 1:00pm & 6:00pm
2019/12/31 (Tuesday) 5:00pm
2019/1/1 (Wednesday) 2:30pm
2019/1/2 (Thursday) 7:45pm
2019/1/3 (Friday) 8:00pm
2019/1/4 (Saturday) 2:30pm & 8:00pm
2019/1/5 (Sunday) 1:00pm & 6:00pm
2019/1/7 (Tuesday) 7:45pm
2019/1/8 (Wednesday) 7:45pm
2019/1/9 (Thursday) 7:45pm
2019/1/10 (Friday) 8:00pm
2019/1/11 (Saturday) 2:30pm & 8:00pm
2019/1/12 (Sunday) 1:00pm & 6:00pm

Tickets:

Event: The Lion King Musical debuts in Hong Kong next week, with 8 more shows added in Jan